Guest blog: The affect of fire

Here is my first contributor!

Heather Greenlee lives in Colorado Springs and has been writing for at least ten years. Recently, she mentioned an experience that she had during the ongoing Waldo Canyon fire above the city. I asked her to write about this.

*************************************************************

The affect of fire

Day is turned into twilight. Fire changes the sun into something angry and red hanging low in the sky. It is hard to breath. The Waldo Canyon fire overtook fire lines and started running wild through northwest Colorado Springs on this June afternoon. Ash rains down around my apartment building.

Online, a friend of mine writes “Watching my neighborhood burn to the ground right now from a live news feed on the computer. Can’t even begin to describe what this feels like. Wouldn’t even know where to start…”

And now, while reading her comments, I hear it.

You can see the horizon blazing red in the darkness of the night from my apartment’s parking lot. Out there, a group of about ten or so drunk college students were shouting the lyrics to “London’s Burning!” by the Clash.

I go back and forth from the computer to my window several times this night. I am reading my friend’s words as she loses everything and I am listening to the drunk college kids laughing and singing because classes were cancelled and the college closed down.

After the first song comes a wobbly version of “It’s the end of the world as we know it,” by R.E.M. Now the shouts, “Burn, baby, burn!”

“Burn, baby, burn!”

Sick to my stomach. Angrier than I have been in a long time, I listen and watch the fire’s glow.

Creative Commons License
The affect of fire by Heather Greenlee is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 Unported License.

This entry was posted in 2012, Colorado, Guest Blog, Waldo Canyon Fire and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

