untitled (“Where have the words gone?”)

untitled

Where have the words gone?
Did I leave them in the last week,
the last month?
Have I forgotten them somewhere?

Returning from a distant place
alive in their imaginations
people meet me with questions.
How was it? How was that?
What was it like?

Face feels rigid, blank, empty
and unfocused vision looks inward
while also trying to track the confusion stirring in their eyes.
Why don’t I answer?
How was it? How was that?
What was it like?

Its not that I don’t understand
or have something to hide
but I have searched for words
and I have no words.

The place they believe I returned from
does not exist.

So,
where did I go?
Where have I returned from?
Where have the words gone?

Returning,
I am met with questions.

Creative Commons License
Untitled (“Where have the words gone?”) by Robert Allen Mahaney is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.

This entry was posted in 2012, Poetry, Tanzania and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

