The Days Engrave – The .357 String Band

I have been so busy with life that I have not posted in awhile. So until I can put some new work together, I think I will post this great song by The .357 String Band, “The Days Engrave.” It has become something of a favorite.

This has been a year of disappointment in other people and in myself. I have not known what is real and what is not, what is past and what is future.

So I consider 2012 done with. On to 2013 . . .

It’s been a long time coming, all my pages fingerstained. And though my heart is still pumping . . . across my face, how the days engrave.

Like the hills as they rise
Like the stones creepin’ under your feet
Like the dead open sky high
The one damn time you need something to drink

Like the road ever-long
Left to suffer without a song
Like all the doors open wide
The one damn time that you need a place to hide

It’s been a long time coming
All my pages fingerstained
And though my heart is still pumping
Across my face,
How the days engrave

Your word against mine
Your god against my everything
My fist in your eye
And I don’t care if it don’t solve a goddamn thing

And so we strain
Tight corners we fight and we pray
‘Till the road that was is blown all to hell
And probably by us

It’s been a long time coming
All my pages fingerstained
And though my heart is still pumping
Across my face,
How the days engrave

And it’s been a long time coming
All my pages fingerstained
And though my heart is still pumping
Across my face, oh lord across my face
How the days engrave

Like the hills as they rise
Like the stones creepin’ under your feet
Like the dead open sky high
The one damn time you need something to drink

Note: I do not own this copyrighted material and urge you to support artists like .357 String Band through the purchase of their music.

*     *     *     *

Update

I like this live version a good deal as well . . .

This entry was posted in 2012, Music, The .357 String Band and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

